Call for Astrological help:   +91 AU +61414220207

Ask a Question




Nakshatra is the term for lunar mansion in Hindu astrology. A nakshatra is one of 27 sectors along the ecliptic. Their names are related to the most prominent asterisms in the respective sectors. These celestial luminaries make all the difference in astrological calculations. Initially, the zodiac was grouped in 12 Rashis for convenience, however the ancient seers have farther subdivided the heavens into 27 Nakshatras or star constellations for the call of precession. These constellations or the Nakshatras emerged as one of the most important components in Astrology.


These Nakshatras are broadly classified under the three heads of Deva (divine), Nara (human) and Rakshasa (Demonic). Farther, they are subdivided by their gender and Varna (cast), and are also ascribed with qualities such as colour, presiding deity, merits and ruler ship of body parts, planets etc.


While the effects of a particular planet placed in a Rashi is studied, the position of the planet in respect to the Nakshatra and its particular Pada is also born in mind. Indians through ages have been taking into account these Nakshatras for determining the auspicious dates and Muhurtha (moment) for any cultural or religious event including marriage. The role of Nakshatras and their respective Padas in predictive astrology is unique to Indian astrology.


Vedic astrology divides zodiac into 27 parts and each part is recognized with unique name. In Devanagari Nakshatra is written as नक्षत्र.

1.            Ashvini/Aswini  (अश्विनी)

2.            Bharani (भरणी)               

3.            Krittika/Krithika  (कृत्तिका)

4.            Rohini   (रोहिणी)

5.            Mrigashirsha      (मृगशीर्ष)             

6.            Ardra     (आर्द्रा)  

7.            Punarvasu  (पुनर्वसु)       

8.            Pushya (पुष्य)   

9.            Ashlesha (आश्ळेषा/आश्लेषा)

10.          Magha (मघा)

11.          Purva Phalguni  (पूर्व फाल्गुनी)

12.          Uttara Phalguni (उत्तर फाल्गुनी)

13.          Hasta     (हस्त)

14.          Chitra    (चित्रा)

15.          Swati     (स्वाति)

16.          Vishakha (विशाखा)

17.          Anuradha (अनुराधा)

18.          Jyeshtha (ज्येष्ठा)

19.          Mula (मूल)

20.          Purva Ashadha  (पूर्वाषाढा)

21.          Uttara Ashadha                (उत्तराषाढा)

22.          Shravana (श्रवण)

23.          Dhanishtha (श्रविष्ठा/धनिष्ठा)

24.          Shatabhisha (शतभिषक्/शततारका)

25.          Purva Bhadrapada (पूर्वभाद्रपदा/पूर्वप्रोष्ठपदा)

 26.         Uttara Bhadrapada (उत्तरभाद्रपदा/उत्तरप्रोष्ठपदा)

27.          Revati   (रेवती)